[Updated] Meetings with the provincial governments of Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur took place on August 29, 2018 and on August 30, 2018, respectively, to introduce the Risk Resiliency Program (RRP) and its key features, and to garner the two local governments’ support for RRP preparation and implementation. Also discussed during the meetings was the upcoming sub-national convergence planning and budgeting consultation workshop in Caraga Region.

DENR Assistant Secretary for Policy and Planning Service Corazon Davis emphasized that the RRP for 2020-2022 is a pioneering approach toward strategic investment planning on climate resilience that also intends to harmonize policies and processes among and between national government agencies (NGAs) and local government units (LGUs).

The Cabinet Cluster on Climate Change Adaptation, Mitigation and Disaster Risk Reduction (CCAM-DRR), which DENR incidentally chairs, adopted the Road Map for 2018-2022 in January 2018. It aims to build a climate and disaster-resilient communities that are supporting equitable and sustainable development. To implement the Road Map, the cluster is adopting the Risk Resiliency Program (RRP) as its convergence program to deliver its outcomes. RRP will serve as a venue and an opportunity to strengthen coordination and convergence among the national government agencies, local government units and partners in the planning and prioritization, budgeting, implementation, and monitoring and evaluation of investments that will result to a more resilient ecosystems, infrastructure, and livelihood of vulnerable communities in key Philippine landscapes from short and long term risks.

Governor Sol Matugas of Surigao del Norte appreciated the strategic approach of RRP. She expressed interest in the assistance and support that her province would receive, and looked forward to the investments in water resources management in the province such as Rain Water Collection Facility and Small Water Impounding Project (SWIP).

Meanwhile, Efren Rivas, Jr., Provincial Administrator of Surigao del Sur, was grateful for Surigao del Sur's inclusion in the RRP given that his province is vulnerable to disaster and has high incidence of poverty. With RRP, he looked forward to improving the process of convergence between LGUs and the NGAs.

RRP has eight priority provinces, namely Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Sarangani, Negros Oriental, Western Samar, Masbate, and Sorsogon. Similar activities are scheduled to be conducted in the six remaining sites.

The World Bank, as a funding institution, offers full support to potential investments of the provinces in the future. The focus of the Bank’s support is on investments in the coastal resilience projects. (FASPS/ Mervin S. Murillo)


Back to Top